Loo of The Year for 2012 Winners Announced

Photo of author

(Newswire.net — February 11, 2013) London, UK — On Friday 7th December, the winners of the Loo of the Year were announced at the special 25th anniversary awards held at St Johns Hotel in Solihull.

The overall UK winner of the Loo of the Year is Staffordshire County Council, who also won the top award in the Local Authority category both for the UK and for England. Winners for the Local Authority category for Scotland, Wales and Ireland were, respectively, South Lanarkshire Council, Ceredigion County Council and Ballymena.

The other Loo of the Year awards for the overall winners of the other categories were as follows:

  • Corporate providers: McDonald’s
  • Accessible toilets: East Lothian Council
  • Baby change facilities: Arbroath Harbour – Angus Council
  • Eco-friendly toilet facilities: Acharacle School – Highland Council
  • Toilets in education centres (schools, etc.): Ceredigion County Council

This year also was the first time that the Loo of the Year award, which normally concentrates on public toilets and “loos away from home”, gave out a Home Throne award to private toilets. Entries in this category were judged on quirkiness, décor and individuality as well as on cleanliness, hygiene and functionality. The winners were Matthew and Carol Short with their toilet constructed in a large recycled whisky barrel.

Some of the winners for the different major categories (there are seven major categories) for England included:

  • Corporate providers: McDonald’s
  • Accessible toilets: Asda – Hither Green
  • Eco-friendly toilets: Choice & Torfield Rotaloos – Hastings Borough Council
  • Baby change facilities: Merryhill Shopping Centre
  • Toilets in education: Brampton Prmary School – East Ham London

For Scotland, some of the winners of the different categories included:

  • Corporate providers: JD Wetherspoon
  • Accessible toilets: Dunbar P.C. – East Lothian Council
  • Eco-friendly toilets: Archaracle Primary School – Highland Council
  • Baby change facilities: Harbour Visitor Centre Arbroath – Angus Council
  • Toilets in education: Highland Council

Some of the Welsh category winners included:

  • Corporate providers: Garwnant Visitor Centre Methyr Tydfil
  • Accessible toilets: JD Wetherspoon
  • Eco-friendly toilets: Tsgol T Llew Jones Brynhoffnant – Ceredigion County Council
  • Baby change facilities: Asda Merthyr Tydfil
  • Toilets in education: Addysg Arbennig, Aberporth – Ceredigion County

The winners of the different categories for North Ireland included:

  • Corporate providers: Medowlane Shopping Centre
  • Accessible toilets: The Braid – Ballymena Borough Council
  • Eco-friendly toilets: The Braid – Ballymena Borough Council
  • Baby change facilities: McKillens Ballymena

The Channel Islands also had their separate category winners, although several categories had no entries submitted. For 2012, the winner for the Public Toilet and the Changing Places Toilet categories was the St Helier Changing Places Toilet.

Over 350 individuals attended the event, including members of the cleaning and janitorial profession, manufacturers of cleaning products and more.  

A representative from London-based cleaning company TSD Cleaning Services said “It’s good to see the standards of hygiene in public toilets being kept high – the competition has to be good for the industry as well as for anyone who actually uses the loos. And it’s good to see some good old British ‘poo humour’ celebrated with the Home Throne award – I hope we see many more years of this award being given out and that more people are inspired by the entries.”

For Press and Interviews please contact:

Daniela Sarasakalova – TSD Cleaning Services Manager / Operations Manager

TSD Cleaning Services

7 Atkinson Road
E16 3LP

020 8819 9476